Recipe · Riri

Chicken Rice

Food is a magical thing that will instantly transport me to a place in my memory bank. It usually tucked away quietly waiting for something to trigger the awakening of these familiar thoughts. Everyone associated a moment or time in their life with food of some kind, whether good or bad.

My mom Chicken rice is something that I will associate with being back in my childhood. When she cooks chicken rice, right away I know that somebody in the family needed to have some comforting. My mom does not eat chicken nor keen to touch and she also irritates by the smell of chicken. So I immediately know somebody must be having a bad day, so my mom willing to go extra miles to make this person better. So this is not something that I will see regularly at the dinner table. Pretty rare I must say.

I think the tradition passing on to me. Whenever I feel like I need some pick me up, I reached things that I could find to make this dish quick and painless (minimal cleaning is a must). So I thought I would share my comfort food recipe : )

for the chicken:

  • 1 medium kampong chicken (remove the fat and keep to add in the rice)
  • 5 cm fresh ginger, smashed with skin on
  • 5 Garlic cloves, smashed with skin on
  • 3 Green Onions
  • seasalt and black peppercorns
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil

Directions: Put everything in a large pot, pour enough water to cover. Bring to a boil; reduce the heat to low and skim any scum off the surface. about 45 min. Remove chicken from the pot and chop into pieces. Combine soy sauce, 3tbs chicken broth, garlic oil, sesame oil in a small bowl. Drizzle over chicken.

For the rice:

  • 4 cups of Thai long grain fragrant rice ( I usually mix it with Basmati rice 50:50)
  • 4 garlic cloves, smashed with skin on
  • 5 cm fresh ginger, smashed with skin on
  • Green Onion
  • 450 ml chicken stock (from the reserved chicken broth)

Directions: Melt the chicken fat in a large pot over medium heat. Add the rice, Garlic, ginger and salt; stir until rice is glossy and fragrant, 2-3 mins. Pour the reserved chicken broth into the pot to cover the rice by half inch. Cover and bring to boiled for 20 to 25 minutes, turn off the heat and let the rice sit, covered (do not open right away) for 5 minutes. 

Garlic chili dip:

  • 5 red chili
  • 2 limes juiced
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 piece of ginger
  • salt and sugar to taste

Directions: Combine everything in a blender. Blend until it smooth. I usually make this extra and keep in the refrigerator for any food that required Chili cuka sambal.

Ginger dip:

  • 2 limes juiced
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 piece young ginger
  • salt to taste

Directions: Combine everything in a blender. Blend until it smooth.

Notes: If I am too lazy to cook the chicken and the rice in a separate way, I usually combine everything in one go : ) also work well. Just cut the chicken and place on top of the rice before bring to boil.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

