life · Riri

the low day

“I believe that if something is troubling you, simply start from where you are and take the action necessary to change it” – Susan Jeffers

I am currently reading ‘Feel the Fear…” by Susan Jeffers and this statement really reminding me to do something when things don’t go as planned. As much as a type-A personality that I am, Singapore has changed me to be more flexible and accepting the fact that I am here because I chose to be here, not because I was pressured by some substances.

Although I have had varying levels of success in ‘not dwelling on the past’, through my journey, I have always believed that if something needs to be fixed, I might as well get on and fix it, and worry about they whys and wherefores later. I fully understand that what I need to be doing. In the real life, I struggled most of the time figure things from the past to the point I have no more probable caused to analyze the situation.

This has been a very hard process for me. I always have to know the 5W1H (Why, Who, What, When, Where + How) in anything that I encountered. Most of my clients and close friends know that every time they’re telling me a new story, they have to first let me know the 5W1H. Such a dictators listener, huh?

One day, when I had one of my low days and when everything seems to be wrong; I chose to write down all the blessings in my life. Trying to meditate and put aside all the stressful thoughts and focus on what is beautiful now. My health, my home, and my loved ones. I’ll write most of them down in my bullet journal even to the littlest things such as, a soft comfy bedding that I’ve been blessed to have, that kiss from a loved one, a family (even we are not as  close as I wish we were), being safe and having the freedom to organize my day as I please and all other aspects of life that nourish my soul.

I know I have to keep reminding myself to no longer take things for granted. To meditate and mindfully acknowledging that thoughts about the past are just thoughts like any others. Where we go from here, the present moment is the most important thing. I have had these moments which add up to a life well-lived. I have to train myself over and over again to worry less and less about the future as I appreciate life to its fullest. I am truly blessed!

Leave a Reply

