Riri · what i think

Self Love

Promise me you will not spend so much time treading water and trying to keep your head above the waves that you forget, truly forget, how much you have always loved to swim – Tyler Knott Gregson

It has been a tough part of life as the challenges that we face every day becoming real and queuing to be resolved. We get tired, as we enter this weird space in highered where we have to make sure we wrap up this year strong. In the chaos, I must anchor in, this periodically I lose my shit. How do you remind yourself of the purpose of it all?

Hygge (pronounced ‘hooga’) which is Danish for creating a sense of coziness. This is one of my favorite words in another language, along with my very well-documented love for ubuntu. It may be hard to say, but I find everyone has not stopped people from finding out that hyggee might be a recipe for a happier life. Oxford even listed hyggee as one of their words of the year of 2016. But what is hygge really for me? Can cashmere socks be my hygge? can clean organized comfy apartment be hygge? I think it will be a life long discovery to understand the unique Danish concept of hygge.

One thing that I know, the more I become aware of myself the more I find that I have the power to create a warm atmosphere and start to enjoy the good in life. There is nothing I find to be more hyggee than sitting with people, discussing the big and small things in life. Hygge is such a deep philosophy word and a way of life that could help people to understand the importance of gratitude, to be simple, to slow down, to unwind, enjoying the pace of life. The goal to create space and time to do nothing but enjoy the little things with family and friends is the ultimate way to have hyggelig home!

I’m currently reading Present over Perfect by Shauna Niequist. I have been reading this book intently, as I really feel like there are moments where it feels like she is literally talking to me. It’s given me a lot to consider in my journey for inner peace. She makes so many on-point remarks and her shift inspiring thinking been giving me a lot of powerful will to change the way I see myself and the world. I want this book to be the guideline to change me internally and guide me to enact upon it. It’s hard! Usually, with a book, I can comb through chapter by chapter quickly, but this book has made me taking my time (which has been forever!) because I keep needing to stop and reflect. Highly recommended life journey book.

Just want to documented this journey and to remind myself to keep working on myself.

Leave a Reply

